Predatory journals are phishing scams for scientists

We all get those emails that start “Dr esteemed Professor…” or “Greetings of the day….”, desperately wanting us to submit an article to their new “open-access” (aka massive fee) journal. Plenty has been written about predatory publishing previously so I don’t want to rehash that, but I received an email this morning that was just so bad, that I would like to record it here for posterity, feel free to post your own in the comments:

Dear Dr. James G Ryall,

Hope you are doing well.

I will be thankful if you could concern on my request.

I am pleased to inform you that Journal of Stem Cell Research & Therapeutics (2475-5540) is planning to release Volume 2 Issue 5 by the mid of May and we need only two articles to accomplish this issue. In fact I am afraid as I am having few days to release the issue. Hence I have chosen some illustrious people like you to support us for release the upcoming issue. So please support us with your contribution of 2 Page Mini Review/Short Communication towards publication in JSRT.

Your prompt submission sustains us a lot and impacts my ranking in end of this month.

Hope you understand my concern and your kind attention in this regard is highly appreciable.

Await your hopeful submission.

Best Regards,
Melissa Hawkins

PS*: In addition, we are accepting the thesis as eBooks and also videos towards publication in JSRT to fulfill our journal in all aspects.

One thought on “Predatory journals are phishing scams for scientists

  1. R Roy

    Received a similar email today. I was questioning its authenticity when I came across your post. Now I know. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

